Book Review: Promises, Promises by Annie Bryant and My Advice on Friend Fights

Our school just had our elections for next years student council. I ran for social director and thankfully got it! I am really excited and we have a great bunch working on it this year.
I liked reading this book at this time because in the book they have their school elections too. This is the 5th book in the Beacon Street a Girls series. Katani and Avery both decide to run for president…which may not have been a good idea at all. Will they ruin their friendship forever? Or will they realize what’s really important?
This BSG book really talks about being stuck in the middle of fights. This happened to me earlier this year when most of the girls on my volleyball team would cut another girl down. She was my friend, too. I tried my very best to stay neutral and be a friend to both sides without saying or even agreeing with anything they were saying about the others. I think it worked well really just being neutral. Once my friends got the memo I wasn’t participating in any drama, they would stop gossiping to me and I could be friends with all the girls. That being said, if your friends are really being mean to each other and make you choose sides, then maybe they aren’t really your friends at all.
If you are ever stuck in a tricky friend situation, give it at least 24 hours before confronting the problem. Sometimes when you are angry, in the heat of the moment, it’s not the best time to try and reason with your friends. You could both say things you don’t mean. Give it 24 hours for you both to cool down and realize what you should do.
Please read this book! You won’t be sorry!

20140621-153244.jpg

Leave a Reply

